RSS Feed

Dual Dining – Chinese Salad

Posted on

My husband, Eric, does not have plans to change his diet to exclude animal products.  This is totally up to him and I am doing my best to avoid lecturing or attempting to persuade him.  So far, he has been pretty understanding about my compulsion to share what I learn about the lifestyle.

One of the challenges that I have experienced while adjusting my diet is cooking for both of us.  We eat together every night when I am not in school and I prefer that we eat the same thing, rather than just fend for ourselves and simply eat with each other.

This brings me to what will be a regular post on A Vegan in Progress: Dual Dining.  These posts will describe meals and recipes that I try, create, or alter to be both Omnivore and Vegan friendly without much hassle.

Today’s Dual Dining meal is based off of the Okami Chinese Chicken Salad mix from Costco.  Please excuse the use of photos I found on a Google search, but I didn’t have photos from the night I made this dinner.

Costco Chinese Chicken Salad Kit | A Vegan in Progress

Growing up, we ate a lot of Chinese chicken salad from Costco and I love it.  The kit offers enough ingredients for two huge salads of lettuce (or spinach, which I prefer) almond slices, wonton strips, rice noodles, and chicken.  All ingredients are packaged separately, making it easy to use substitutions in place of certain ones.

After looking over the ingredients, I found that the greens, almond slices, and dressing were vegan.  Just a quick trip to Ralphs later and I had wonton strips and rice noodles that were animal product free.  To make one of each version of the salad, all that I did was toss the greens, almonds, and dressing, then split the salad in half and mix in the wonton strips and rice noodles specific to each salad.  For Eric’s salad, I warmed the chicken in a small amount of the dressing that I held to one side and added it to the bowl.  I don’t miss the chicken when I leave it out, but I suppose tofu would be a nice replacement if necessary.

An even simpler version (and slightly cheaper) would be to make the entire salad from vegan versions of each ingredient, since there is little difference between the Costco and Ralphs wonton strips and rice noodles and toss with a vegan grocery store bought dressing, such as the Ken’s Steak House Lite Asian Sesame with Ginger and Soy dressing that I also found at Ralphs.

Add mandarin oranges if you like such things in your Chinese salads and there you have it – an easy entrée salad for both to enjoy!

About mrsnikkiv

I blog to document my experience transitioning to a vegan lifestyle.

5 responses »

  1. I totally understand your situation and love that you’re chronicling it here. I’m vegan, my kids are vegetarian and my husband is an omnivore but eats vegetarian about 95% of the time. But we don’t cook any meat in the house. Getting my husband and middle child to give up cheese is a struggle I’ve not yet won and may never win. But that’s okay. I think so long as everyone in the household understands one another’s choices and supports them, we’re going to be a happy family who can sit around the table together. : ) Looking forward to reading more from you!

    Reply
  2. Great entry! I love that dressing! Good to know I can still have it.

    Reply
  3. I live in El Paso, TX and Costco just discontinued this product.

    Reply
  4. Even more reason to have a copycat recipe!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

