RSS Feed

Vegan Recipe – Lentil Tacos

Posted on

I hope to try and post a new recipe each week.  I may miss a week or two, but that’s my goal.

This week I tried a variation on the first vegan meal I made for myself – lentil tacos!

You will need:
1/2 cup green lentils
1/2 cup black lentils
(Lentils can really be any amount or any kind.  Just keep in mind that they balloon up once cooked so you get a lot more than you think you will.  This amount made three servings for me, so I could take it to work for lunches.)
1/2 packet of low sodium taco seasoning
Any kind of salsa (I used salsa verde)
Tortillas or Pitas
Optional: vegan cheese, lettuce, olives

1.  I simmered the lentils for about 30 minutes and just taste tested them for consistency before draining the pot.

2.  I put the lentils in a bowl and mixed in about half of a packet of low sodium taco seasoning, making sure the lentils were coated evenly.

3.  I kept it simple and just layered the lentils and salsa in my tacos.

This makes a yummy and easy dinner when paired with a salad or some fruit.

To prep the leftovers for easy eating in the office, I mixed the salsa verde in with the lentils in a tupperware container.  Once at work I spooned the mixture into pita halves.

About mrsnikkiv

I blog to document my experience transitioning to a vegan lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

