RSS Feed

Days Fourteen, Fifteen, Sixteen, and Seventeen

Posted on

Day Fourteen: Gather vegan recipes

You would only have to check my blog or my Pinterest board to see all of the vegan recipes that I have gathered so far!  I think I’ve got this one covered.

Day Fifteen: Try a new recipe

Sarah Taylor of Vegan in 30 Days suggests trying one new recipe a week for a year.  That’s my vegan recipe a week goal as well.  Once the Fall semester begins, I will be working full time and will be at school until 10pm three nights a week, so this will be challenging to maintain.  Hopefully, with my slow cooker and some weekend cooking, I will be able to keep it up.

Day Sixteen: Eliminate fish and seafood

This is really simple for me.  I have never liked seafood and haven’t had more than a bite (just to try it and confirm that, yes, I still hate it) since probably 5th grade.

Day Seventeen: Commit to the kitchen

Taylor, author of Vegan in 30 Days, stresses the need to put a little more time into the preparation of our food in order to get a healthier outcome.  I have already committed to having a healthy green smoothie every morning and now that I have a new blender and got the hang of it, it takes only about 15 minutes a day from start to finish.

I use kale, spinach, and sometimes celery, with one green apple, around 5 frozen strawberries, a heaping handful of frozen mixed berries, and a splash of water and soy milk.  It’s simple to make, with many things prepared in advance, and I can take it with me to work in the mornings.

Sarah Taylor also suggests making one-pot meals, such as the slow cooker ones found in my favorite recipe book, The Vegan Slow Cooker: Simply Set It and Go with 150 Recipes for Intensely Flavorful, Fuss-Free Fare Everyone (Vegan or Not!) Will Devour.  The preparation is usually small, but Eric and I get enough for dinner and leftovers every time.

About mrsnikkiv

I blog to document my experience transitioning to a vegan lifestyle.

2 responses »

  1. I dont have a slow cooker, but I can still make one pot meals. Most of mine have an Asian flair.
    I love new recipes; but I still think I’d have a hard time committing to 1 new recipe every week for a year. Maybe I could do it on Sundays… It sounds like you’ll get a lot of great experiences out of it. I hope you keep it up, sounds awesome!
    Don’t blenders make life so much better? I recently got the Ninja and I LOVE it so much! it’s so versatile!
    Love you blog,
    -Kerri
    oh, ps. I just posted about my vegan ricotta, check it out.

    Reply
    • Yeah, I love having a powerful blender. I was at Costco today and caught a Vitamix demonstration. That thing is amazing. She made a shake in 45 seconds. I wish that was in my budget!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

