RSS Feed

Vegan Recipe – Chorizo and Sweet Potato Enchilada Casserole

Posted on

This recipe of the week comes from The Vegan Slow Cooker: Simply Set It and Go with 150 Recipes for Intensely Flavorful, Fuss-Free Fare Everyone (Vegan or Not!) Will Devour, which I have been slowly working my way through.  I have been meaning to post it for the last week, but I went back and forth about whether or not I should post a photo.  The recipe makes a great mid-week meal, but it is by no means an impressive one that you should make for company.  Simply said, it comes out looking sloppy.  I am not even posting photos of it because I don’t want to discourage anyone from trying it.  It was a really tasty meal and made for great leftovers, so give it a try.

I really liked the soy chorizo, which reminded me of a spicy ground meat.  Also worth noting, we used two sweet potatoes instead of the one listed in the recipe.  I had never cooked with sweet potatoes before.  I know, I was in a serious rut before becoming vegan!  Anyway, I didn’t know that there were many types of sweet potatoes (including purple ones!), so I accidentally bought “dry-fleshed” sweet potatoes.  The dry-fleshed sweet potatoes are white on the inside, firmer, and less sweet.  I thought the recipe worked well with this type of potato, but I’m sure it would be very good with a sweeter, orange “moist-fleshed” potato, although you may only want to use one due to the sweetness.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 medium-size sweet potato, thinly sliced
  • 2 to 3 cups enchilada sauce
  • 1 package (11 oz) corn tortillas
  • ½ package (12 oz) soy chorizo
  • 1 can (15 oz) black beans, drained and rinsed

** You can use crumbled tofu in place of the chorizo if you want a gluten-free version.  Use beans instead to make it a soy-free dish.

THE NIGHT BEFORE:
Store the sliced sweet potato in an airtight container in the fridge. (You could also just slice it in the morning as your first step.)

IN THE MORNING:
1.  Oil the crock of your slow cooker (or use a liner) and pour one-fourth of the sauce over the bottom.
2.  Cover the sauce with a single layer of tortillas and top with one-third of the chorizo, one-third of the sweet potatoes, and one-third of the black beans.  Top with another one-fourth of the sauce.
3.  Repeat the layering (starting with the tortillas) two more times, cover with a final layer of corn tortillas, and spread the remaining sauce on top.
4.  Cook on low for 4 to 5 hours, or on high for 2 to 3 hours.  If your slow cooker runs hot, pour on a little extra sauce to keep it from drying out.

At first bite we thought that the dish was very dry.  We each topped our servings with some salsa (Eric preferred tomatillo and I used traditional) and the dish became really tasty and spicy.  The next day I took leftovers to work and tossed a pinch of Daiya pepperjack cheese on top about 30 seconds before the end of the microwave cycle.  I enjoyed the extra cheesy-ness, but it was great without it as well.

About mrsnikkiv

I blog to document my experience transitioning to a vegan lifestyle.

2 responses »

  1. This sounds delicious (even if it’s sloppy in appearance)!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

