RSS Feed

The Rabbit Hole Cafe, Agoura Hills

It has been ages since I have written because my classes this semester have taken the will to blog right out of me.  I’m right in the middle of finals, but thought I should squeeze in a post or two between my second language acquisition Linguistics final and my term paper comparing the education system in Germany to that of the US.

I recently met my mom and sister for lunch at the most adorable restaurant I have ever seen.  The Rabbit Hole Cafe has a cute, comfortable feeling, kind of reminding me of the home section of Anthropologie.  There was mismatched silverware on every table, water for self-service, and mismatched seating.  The menu stated that all of their dishes are GMO and preservative free and that 95% of their produce is local and organic.  I really appreciated that the menu was well-marked, indicating vegan and gluten-free options.

There’s an amazing selection of tempting options – many of them vegan – so it took me a while to decide what to order.  Plus, I was distracted by their dessert display.  I settled on the Shepherd’s Pie which is a veggie patty, topped with sweet potato cauliflower mash, then baked in the oven.  The patty description doesn’t sound that appetizing, but it crumbled apart well to make the perfect fork-full of veggies, sweet potato, and cauliflower.  My only complaint was that the serving was pretty small.  I was left satisfied, but I wished I had some to take home for later because it was so tasty!  Sorry, I began eating it as soon as it arrived, so I didn’t get a photo.

I also got a vegan whoopie pie which was soft and delicious.

The Rabbit Hole Cafe - Whoopie pie | A Vegan in Progress

We had the self-control to stop and take a photo of the whoopie pie before we finished it.

The people there are really friendly and just make you want to come back again!    I am definitely going back to try their Vegan Panini and the vegan Rabbit Hole Burger.

*** I also want wish my mom a happy birthday today.  She has been thrown into this whole vegetarian and vegan friendly lifestyle because of the rest of us and she has handled it with grace.  She also reads my blog all the time.  I love you Mom!

Click here to see all posts about The Rabbit Hole Cafe.

About mrsnikkiv

I blog to document my experience transitioning to a vegan lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

