RSS Feed

Healthy Halloween Treat

This is obviously a late post, but I felt it was worth sharing.  I am in school for my liberal studies degree with a teacher preparation option.  This means that I am required to log 50 hours of observation and participation in an elementary school classroom over two semesters.  Last semester I was assigned to a kindergarten class and this semester a third grade class.  My host teacher is awesome and enthusiastic.  It’s infectious and her students are generally very motivated to learn and participate.  When students seem to lose focus or just before a big test, the teacher leads them through some simple yoga and tells them that since their right and left brains are balanced, they are at their absolute smartest and ready for the test.

Anyway, I was scheduled to observe on Halloween and wanted to bring a treat.  I figured that they were going to get enough candy, so I should bring something healthy and fun.  I can’t take credit for this idea, because I believe I saw it on Pinterest and don’t have the source, but it is awesome.  I bought two bags of clementines, washed and dried them, and drew jack-o-lantern faces on them with a sharpie.  I tried to vary the faces, making them both scary and goofy.  The kids were really excited to get a snack and happily took them to the cafeteria to eat with their lunches.  Some even requested certain faces.  My only suggestion is to keep the sharpie to a minimum – don’t draw big black smiles.  The waxy surface of the clementine peel causes the sharpie to rub off on your hands when you peel it, although not when you just hold it.  Try it out next Halloween!

Healthy Halloween Treat | A Vegan in Progress

About mrsnikkiv

I blog to document my experience transitioning to a vegan lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

