RSS Feed

This just in… some Girl Scout Cookies are Vegan!

Every once in a while, I go to my wordpress reader and click on Vegan under “explore topics” so I can find new cool blogs to follow.  Today I came across this post from Insufferable Vegan that says that some Girl Scout cookies are vegan.  I’m a former Girl Scout, so I like to support the girls by buying at least a box per year.  I am thrilled to read that some are vegan because I love Tagalongs, my sister loves Thin Mints and I just figured we would never get to have them again.  According to the Girl Scouts website, there are only two bakers that make Girl Scout cookies… ABC Bakers and Little Brownie Bakers.

ABC Bakers says right on their website that their Thin Mints, Peanut Butter Patties (aka Tagalongs), Lemonades, and Thanks-A-Lot are vegan.

Little Brownie Bakers do not produce vegan cookies.  The problem for me is that the Los Angeles Girl Scouts Council buys their cookies from Little Brownie Bakers as does the Girl Scouts of California’s Central Coast Council that serves Ventura County and Santa Barbara County.  However, the Girl Scouts of Orange County Council buys their cookies from ABC Bakers.  If I’m in the area during cookie season, I’ll be on the lookout!

Check the link to the Insufferable Vegan post for more on how to find out for your area.  Based on their websites, I have compiled a list of hints as to which bakery made the cookies in case you’re not sure for your area and you happen to see a booth and need the info immediately.

  • Tagalongs will be called “Peanut Butter Patties,” Samoas will be called “Caramel deLites,” Do-Si-Dos will be called “Peanut Butter Sandwich”, and Trefoils will be called “Shortbread” so if you see those on the table, you know that their cookies come from ABC Bakers.
  • Thanks-A-Lot cookies (the ones that read “Thank You” on the actual cookie), Lemonade, and Mango Creme cookies are only sold by ABC Bakers.
  • If you see Savannah Smiles, Dulce de Leche, or Thank You Berry Munch cookies, their cookies are supplied by Little Brownie Bakers and therefore, none of them are vegan.

If you live near Orange County, you can check out ABC Bakers’ Booth Locator to find scheduled cookie booths throughout the season.

About mrsnikkiv

I blog to document my experience transitioning to a vegan lifestyle.

5 responses »

  1. I would thank you for this info, you may have just rekindled my former yearly addiction to thin mints. Mmmm.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Big Food, Antibiotic Health Risks, Greenhouse Gases, and Vegan Valentine’s Treats | Change for a Year

  3. I would have never guessed!! I’m always a sucker for girls selling girl scout cookies, but since going vegan I’ve always said, “no thanks.” Celeste 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

