RSS Feed

Vegan at Mae Ploy, Silverlake, Los Angeles

Posted on

Mae Ploy is very close to Mohawk Bend, in the trendy Los Angeles neighborhood of Silverlake.  Like I said before, my husband grew up in the area and doesn’t remember it being a nightlife and cafe hub – it was a bit more unsavory back then.  However, the Silverlake and Echo Park neighborhoods are getting better and better, even in the 10 years that we’ve been together.  We have ordered Mae Ploy quite a few times for dinner with his family, but I this was my first time eating their food as a vegan.

It was Eric’s mom’s birthday and she had picked up Chinese food for everyone and didn’t want me just eating white rice and soy sauce.  She insisted that we pick up something for me on the way, so Eric yelped vegan places while I drove.  He stumbled on yelp posts for Mae Ploy mentioning their vegan options.  He tried to find a menu, but it doesn’t seem like they have much of an internet presence.  I have since found this one, but what I ordered isn’t even listed, so it must not be current.  I suggest going in person or calling them and asking all the annoying questions necessary to get what you want.  I went by the yelp suggestions and just ordered what vegan reviewers enjoyed.

Since I was ordering food from a Thai restaurant, I figured, why not try the vegan Pad Thai with Tofu.  It was very tasty and the tofu was broken up-kind of resembling the bits of egg found in non-vegan pad thai, rather than in big tofu cubes.

Mae Ploy - Vegan Pad Thai with Tofu | A Vegan in Progress

Vegan Pad Thai with Tofu

My favorite of the evening was the Garlic Pepper Tofu.  I have never had tofu flavored that well!  It was delicious, but there were just a couple of tiny slivers of carrot.  For a vegan meal, I would have liked a lot more veggies.  It came with rice and was a plenty big meal.  I didn’t really need to order the Pad Thai, so we had a lot of leftovers.

Mae Ploy - Garlic Pepper Tofu | A Vegan in Progress

Garlic Pepper Tofu – get it!

I also had their Vegetable Spring Rolls, which were crispy and good, but just yer average spring roll.

There are a lot of vegan places to patronize in this part of LA, but if you’re looking for a good place for vegans and carnists alike, check out Mae Ploy!

About mrsnikkiv

I blog to document my experience transitioning to a vegan lifestyle.

4 responses »

  1. Oh gosh, I love me some vegan Pad Thai. I like the way the tofu is crumbled up like that as I’m not really a fan of blocks of tofu.

    Reply
  2. I’m usually not a fan of it either, but that garlic pepper tofu was awesome!

    Reply
  3. Vegan pad Thai – wow, that looks amazing!! I’m on a mission to try that now – thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

