RSS Feed

Vegan at Auntie Anne’s

Posted on

Vegan at Auntie Annes | A Vegan in Progress

Every once in a while, it’s nice to feel like you’re the same as everyone else and enjoy a little guilty pleasure mall food.  I have always loved Auntie Anne’s pretzels, so I was happy to find that I could still enjoy their Cinnamon Sugar pretzels.  According to the very helpful Vegan Guide on the Auntie Anne’s website, the Original, Cinnamon Sugar, Sweet Almond, Garlic, Jalapeño, and Raisin pretzels are all vegan when ordered without butter.  However, for those who stay away from sugar filtered using bone char, you should know that all of their pretzels include this type of sugar.

Not only does cutting the butter make these pretzels vegan, but it saves quite a bit of calories and many grams of fat.  To my tastebuds, the Cinnamon Sugar pretzel tasted just as delicious without the butter and – vegan or not – I would have always ordered it this way had I known.  The only difference is that it’s less greasy and the sugar has a slightly tougher time staying on the pretzel.  Added bonus – when you order it this way, you will likely get a very fresh pretzel because they will make yours separately.  In my case, I only had to wait three minutes.

About mrsnikkiv

I blog to document my experience transitioning to a vegan lifestyle.

6 responses »

  1. Wow I have not had an Auntie Anne’s pretzel in so long!! I’m just never at the mall haha but it’s good to hear they are making an effort for healthier and vegan options.

    Reply
  2. Oh my goodness there is an Auntie Anne’s in the next town to me, I had assumed pretzels were off limits (especially sugar and cinnamon varieties) so this is very exciting! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  3. I don’t know if this is true for all locations, but at the Auntie Anne’s I just went to in Delaware, their idea of a “garlic pretzel” was a regular pretzel doused in garlic Parmesan seasoning. So not vegan in the least :/. Beware!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

