RSS Feed

Vegan Graduation Party

Posted on

As I have mentioned a couple of times before, for the last few years I have been very busy, working full time and attending school full time in the evenings.  All of the hard work and years without much free time to speak of came to a close last month when I graduated with my Bachelor’s Degree in Liberal Studies – Teacher Preparation option with a General Science Concentration from California State University, Northridge.

Vegan Graduation Party | A Vegan in Progress

Vegan Graduation Party | A Vegan in Progress

The last two semesters were extremely challenging and equally rewarding.  I graduated with honors, Cum Laude – a personal goal that I had set for myself a couple of years back.  In addition, a paper that I worked very hard on will be submitted for a literary award for the best piece of work on Children’s Literature in an academic year.  All of the trying nights studying and weekends spent in front of my laptop instead of out having fun were totally worth the hassle.  There’s a sense of accomplishment that I can’t really describe and it’s only magnified by the fact that I did it all while working a regular job.

Vegan Graduation Party | A Vegan in Progress

Happy graduate!

To celebrate the event, Eric and I threw a small party for close friends and family at our place after the evening ceremony.  My mom and sister and I planned an all vegan menu, but didn’t make a big deal about it, hoping that our guests would try everything without prejudice.

Vegan Graduation Party | A Vegan in Progress

Vegan Graduation Party | A Vegan in Progress

Just some of the vegan spread

We had stuffed olives, veggies, pita, and homemade hummus, fruit and a thai fruit dip, chips, pico de gallo, and guacamole, stuffed peppers, a three-layer italian dip and crackers, cucumber soup shots, and my mom’s famous meatless meatball sliders.

Vegan Graduation Party | A Vegan in Progress

Meatless Meatball Sliders - Vegan Graduation Party | A Vegan in Progress

Meatless Meatball Sliders with cashew cheese

Vegan Graduation Party | A Vegan in Progress

My mother in law was especially surprised with the tasty food and made a point to try everything.  Our omnivore friends raved about the meatless meatball sliders, their favorite items of the evening.

We ended the night with a toast of Dom Perignon and slices of this delicious vegan chocolate cake from No Udder Desserts.  Everyone went crazy for the cake.  Eric has even said that he wants his 30th birthday cake from the same bakery.

No Udder Desserts Cake - Vegan Graduation Party | A Vegan in Progress

About mrsnikkiv

I blog to document my experience transitioning to a vegan lifestyle.

4 responses »

  1. Congratulations on receiving your degree Nikki! Cum Laude, way to go!! 🙂 Good luck in your continued vegan journey and other life adventures.

    Reply
  2. Wow Congrats!!!!! I got my B.A at Csun and I’m also getting my Masters there too! Congrats Vegan Matador!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

