RSS Feed

Beyond Meat Retail Packages and Victoria Vegan Roasted Pepper Alfredo Sauce

Posted on

If you haven’t heard of Beyond Meat, they first introduced their plant based meat-free product in the prepared food section of Whole Foods.  This meant that they often ran out, the quality was uneven, and you could only get certain recipes.  I was only ever able to try the sesame recipe from our local Whole foods and lucky for me, the quality was great.

Needless to say, I was really looking forward to their retail packages so that I could add their Chicken-Free Strips to any recipe.  A few months ago I decided to try it with bow tie pasta, sun-dried tomatoes, and Victoria Vegan Roasted Pepper Alfredo Sauce.

Beyond Meat Retail Packages and Victoria Vegan Red Pepper Alfredo Sauce | A Vegan in Progress

That sauce is awesome!  It’s super flavorful and very creamy… Eric even loved it.  However, the Beyond Meat left a lot to be desired.  First of all, it was in way bigger strips than when it was sold in prepared foods.  Even when I ate meat I wasn’t interested in strips that thick.  I felt like I had to choke them down and even with a lot of tasty sauce, they seemed dry.

Beyond Meat Chicken-Free Strips | A Vegan in Progress

Here’s the final result.  It wasn’t a horrible flop of a meal, but I haven’t purchased Beyond Meat since and don’t think I am likely to again.  The Victoria Vegan Roasted Pepper Alfredo Sauce, however, will see the inside of my fridge again and again.

Red Pepper Alfredo Beyond Meat Dish | A Vegan in Progress

About mrsnikkiv

I blog to document my experience transitioning to a vegan lifestyle.

5 responses »

  1. Brandon Haskey

    Awww, I had heard such good things about Beyond Meat! I haven’t tried it yet, and I still will, but I’m still a little bummed to hear it might not be as good as I hope!

    Reply
  2. I hadn’t tried it until it was available in the retail package, and I agree, I didn’t see what all the fuss was about. I did not like the texture or flavor and it just tasted…fake. Give me Gardein over this any day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

