RSS Feed

Vegan at BJ’s Brewhouse

I so appreciate the work that other vegan bloggers have put into researching vegan foods at chain restaurants.  Eric and I went to lunch with out of town family and his great grandmother had her heart set on ribs from BJ’s Brewhouse, so I checked out Quarrygirl for a rundown of vegan options.  Luckily, their pizza crust and marinara sauce are vegan, so I just had to choose a pizza and ask for no cheese or meat.  I went with the Mediterranean mini pizza with deep dish crust.  I asked for no chicken, no cheese, and marinara sauce instead of pesto (thinking it may have cheese in it).  The Mediterranean pizza comes with roasted garlic, Kalamata olives, sun-dried and seasoned tomatoes, and sliced peperoncinis.

Mediterranean Pizza - BJ's Brewhouse | A Vegan in Progress

Mediterranean Pizza

I think there may have been some confusion about the sauce request.  The waiter brought my pizza with a side of marinara sauce.  As you can see in the above picture, there”s just a brushing of marinara sauce and, therefore, the toppings didn’t stay on the pizza in the least.

Everything tasted really great and I ended up dipping the crust in the extra marinara sauce, but it was pretty annoying to have to scoop up the toppings and eat them off of my fork.  I don’t think I would go out of my way to eat there again, but Eric likes their food a lot and it’s nice to know that this opens up our dining options.

About mrsnikkiv

I blog to document my experience transitioning to a vegan lifestyle.

4 responses »

  1. Wow great! I am going there tomorrow for a friend’s birthday party and I was very worried they might not have any vegan option. This helps a lot. Thank you.

    Reply
  2. We’re at BJs right now and the waitress checked if the dough was vegan. She just checked and was told there is milk in the dough. We’re having drinks then heading somewhere else. Super bummed!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

