RSS Feed

Wheel of Life Restaurant, Irvine

Eric and I met up with some  of his family in Orange County a couple of weeks back.  I had Yelped ahead of time and suggested Wheel of Life Restaurant in Irvine.  Their menu is 100% vegan, which makes ordering completely stress-free.

Overall, I would rate it a B+.  The focus seemed to be on traditional Thai dishes that were veganized, with most dishes including some kind of meat replacement.

They serve family style, so we got to try a number of dishes.

First, we tried the Thai Spring Rolls and Golden Papi Wraps.  The spring rolls were pretty basic, but the Golden Papi Wraps were awesome.  They were like Thai Samosas.  They were my favorites of the evening and I would definitely order them again.  The only disappointing aspect was the serving size.  The pictures in the menu show just three spring rolls, but I figured we would get more in actuality.  No such luck.  Three measly spring rolls for $6.

Next, Orange “Chicken” and “Chicken” Fried Rice.  I never ate a lot of fried rice and I never really cared for orange chicken in my pre-vegan days, so I’m not a great judge of these dishes.  I thought they both tasted fine, but I wouldn’t order them again.  Eric really liked them, however.

Eric’s a big fan of Satay, so we got an order of that as well as an order of Pad Thai “Chicken.”  The Satay was pretty decent, texture-wise.  It was just a little spongy, but the outer texture was a little tougher.  The Pad Thai was very good.  It seems like that dish is always well done when veganized.

I also got an order of Cashew “Chicken,” which was very tasty, but not spicy enough for my liking.  Sorry for the blurry photo.

Wheel of Life - Cashew "Chicken" | A Vegan in Progress

Cashew “Chicken”

Eric loved the meal and wished that it were closer so we could frequent it.  However, I preferred VegiLicious in Huntington Beach and would choose to eat there if I were in the area.

Most importantly, it was nice visiting with family.  This is me and our youngest niece, Olivia.  She’s a smart little handful.

Little Miss Olivia

Little Miss Olivia

About mrsnikkiv

I blog to document my experience transitioning to a vegan lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

