RSS Feed

Vegan at Cafe 50’s, Santa Monica

Eric and I recently found ourselves at Cafe 50’s in Santa Monica after a morning of helping our friend Jessica prepare to move out of state.  It’s a cute little themed diner and, once upon a time, I loved their chocolate milkshakes.

Anyway, after looking at the menu and deciding that I didn’t want a mere salad, I ordered the Healthy Sandwich.  It usually comes with tomato, cucumber, avocado, lettuce, onions, fresh mushrooms, and Swiss cheese on toasted ten-grain whole wheat walnut and sunflower bread with a touch of mayonnaise.  I of course ordered it without the cheese or mushrooms and subbed mustard for the mayonnaise.  Here’s where I fail as a vegan, though.  I didn’t ask about the ingredients in the bread.  This sounds like a sorry excuse, but I really just didn’t feel like dealing with it that afternoon.  I realize now that a simple solution would have been to order it on sourdough bread, which is almost certainly vegan.  If there’s a next time, I will definitely remember that option.

Originally, it came without the avocado, which was the whole reason I was drawn to the sandwich in the first place, so I asked them to fix that.

It ended up being a filling sandwich and the fries were great.  I would rate the dish about a B minus.

Cafe 50's - Healthy Sandwich - veganized | A Vegan in Progress

About mrsnikkiv

I blog to document my experience transitioning to a vegan lifestyle.

2 responses »

  1. I never think about the bread either! I tend to assume that most breads are vegan, with the exception of “quick breads” (like cornbread, muffins, etc.). I should research this more; the devil is in the details!

    Reply
    • Yep. I often forget. Although, even if I remember to, I have this weird compulsion to not ask for more than 3 changes to a menu item. They almost always mess up if you change too much. That comes from being a picky eater my whole life and being disappointed a lot.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

