RSS Feed

Vegan Recipe – Tempeh Bacon

I never realized the delicious smokiness that is Tempeh Bacon until a visit to Venice Ale House in February.  This weekend, I found myself craving some kind of vegan meat, but without any Tofurkey sausages on hand.  After a quick search, I found this recipe on Chez Bettay.  It seems like something that would be tough to make yourself, but it was actually surprisingly easy.  Give it a try.  If I can do it, anyone can!

Tempeh bacon | A Vegan in Progress

Tempeh bacon

The following is the recipe from Chez Bettay, modified for my preferences (I often refer to my blog for ingredients when cooking and grocery shopping later).

INGREDIENTS:

Tempeh Bacon ingredients | A Vegan in Progress

  • 1 package tempeh of choice (sliced in long thin slices)
  • 1/8 cup organic maple syrup
  • 3 teaspoons liquid smoke (I prefer it smokier rather than sweeter)
  • 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 3/4 teaspoon cumin
  • dash of cayenne pepper (I would leave this out if cooking for Eric – too spicy)
  • 1/8 cup tamari
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1 tablespoon organic extra virgin coconut oil (melted)

DIRECTIONS:

Tempeh Bacon strips | A Vegan in Progress

  1. Combine all marinade ingredients in a large non-stick skillet until coconut oil melts, then add tempeh strips.
  2. Bring contents of the pan to a simmer over low heat and cover with a lid.
  3. Cook for about 5 minutes and then slip each tempeh bacon strip over and cover the pan for another 5 minutes.
  4. After 5 minutes, remove the lid and continue to cook over medium-high heat and flip as necessary until both sides are a crispy carmelized brown and the marinade is completely evaporated.
About mrsnikkiv

I blog to document my experience transitioning to a vegan lifestyle.

2 responses »

  1. That looks really wonderful!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

