RSS Feed

Vegan at Falafel Palace, Northridge

Falafel Palace is a little Greek and Middle Eastern restaurant near Cal State Northridge.  I have driven past the place thousands of times over the years and sadly, never stopped in.  However, Eric and I were attending a comedy show on campus (Jo Koy, Natasha Leggero, and Josh Wolf) and arrived early and hungry, so we decided on Falafel Palace.  For those unfamiliar with falafels, they are very filling grilled or fried balls made of chickpeas, parsley, and spices.  I walked in knowing that Falafels and hummus are safe bets, but was thrilled to see a vegan section of the menu.  In fact, the restaurant was so vegan-friendly that they had labels on sauce containers identifying them as non-dairy.

Listed as vegan are the following items:

  • Falafel pita with lettuce, tomato, and tahini (sesame seed sauce)       $6.75
  • Chickpea wrap with falafel, tahini, avocado, lettuce, and tomato       $8.99
  • Garden burger with veggie patty, vegan mayo, lettuco, tomato, and grilled onions       $8.95
  • Vegetarian Gyro with falafel, hummus, tabouli, lettuce, tomato, grilled onions, and tzatziki       $7.25
  • Falafel Plate with salad, rice, 2 sides, and pita       $9.95
  • Homemade Baklava       $2.25
  • You can also get falafel balls and dolma as sides.

I ordered the chickpea wrap because I had never tried falafel with avocado before plus a small side of hummus and 2 pitas.

I loved the wrap.  It was fresh and warm and the avocado added a great creamy element to the falafel, which often can be heavy and dry.

The hummus was a little on the bland side and slightly thin, but the pita were so soft and warm.  We didn’t need the side, though because we were both full from our respective meals.

Falafel Palace, Northridge | A Vegan in Progress

We will definitely be back.  It’s even close enough to my office that I may be able to squeak in a visit for lunch.

About mrsnikkiv

I blog to document my experience transitioning to a vegan lifestyle.

2 responses »

  1. I love your blog! You help me find so many new places. I am fascinated that one of the items comes with tzatziki. I’ve never seen a vegan tzatziki before! I will have to try this place. And it’s great that they have a separate vegan section on their menu. Even though falafel is usually vegan, I’ve been to places that make it with egg. Boo! In fact, for reasons I’ve never understood, the salad bar at one of the Whole Foods near me has both “Vegan Falafel” and their regular falafel, which contains egg. Why can’t they just have a vegan one? Is their such demand for falafel with egg? Anyway, thanks for your post!

    Reply
    • Same to you! You are always going to places that I’m dying to try. Yeah, I don’t get the point of making two kinds of falafel. They stay together just fine without the egg. That makes no sense.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

