Vegan at Chipotle

Posted on

It’s no secret that it’s easy to get a vegan meal at Chipotle.  It’s my favorite casual dining restaurant because I don’t feel like I am compromising by having a flavorless, boring meal or making anyone else compromise by having to eat the same food as me all the time.

Up until recently, eating vegan at Chipotle has meant simply ordering a meatless bowl, salad, burrito, or taco, without pinto beans (cooked with bacon) and without cheese or sour cream.  It’s not a bad arrangement, either.  The meatless option means free guacamole!

However, now California Chipotle locations are offering Tofu Sofritas as an alternative to meat and simply meatless meals.

Vegan at Chipotle | A Vegan in Progress

Thank you, Chipotle!

According to their website,

“We start with organic tofu from Hodo Soy that we shred and then braise with chipotle chilis, roasted poblanos, and a blend of aromatic spices.

The result is a delicious, spicy tofu that will give vegans and carnivores something they both will love.”
A close up of my burrito with delicious Sofritas and an assortment of salsas.

A close up of my burrito with delicious Sofritas and an assortment of salsas.

It’s no joke, either.  Sofritas are filling and spicy and make for an awesome option that everyone can enjoy.  Hopefully they will do well in California and Chipotle’s corporate heads decide to offer them at all of their locations across the US, the UK, Canada, and France.

UPDATE:

Sofritas were ruled a success in test markets and plans are in place to make them an option at all Chipotle locations!

About mrsnikkiv

I blog to document my experience transitioning to a vegan lifestyle.

4 responses »

  1. Oh man I hope they bring that to London! You better eat heaps of these so they know they are a success 😉

    Reply
    • The only downside the Sofritas is having to pay for guacamole, but it’s a small price to pay to hopefully get vegan options in every Chipotle around the world!

      Reply
  2. I tried it for the first time last week. So yummy! Bummer that they treat it like meat and charge for guac, but I liked that they let me do half tofu and half veggies. Woo! More vegan options! 😀

    Reply

Leave a comment