Yakisoba Stir Fried Noodles and Don Lee Farms Veggie Patties

Posted on

Like Trader Joe’s, Costco has recently increased their vegan food options.  We just go to Costco every so often because we are only two people and it takes us forever to go through our purchases.  However, when I was juicing, Costco was a great place to get produce in bulk, so we went once a week through that time.

Costco offers Don Lee Farms Veggie Patties to be used as veggie burger patties or just crumbled and used as a meat substitute in any recipe.  I find them to be pretty moist, flavorful, and affordable.  My favorite part is the tiny sunflower seeds mixed in.  They go really well with spicy brown mustard.

Don Lee Farms Veggie Patties | A Vegan in Progress

I also recently tried the Yakisoba Stir Fried Noodles from the Costco frozen section.  They are vegan “Japanese-style noodles with crispy vegetables and a savory sauce.  They are a very easy and healthier frozen meal option and they work very well as last minute lunches for work.

Yakisoba Stir Fried Noodles | A Vegan in Progress

I noticed that everything tastes very fresh for a frozen meal.  The “savory sauce” is noticeable on the noodles, but the veggies don’t seem to be seasoned at all.  The second time I had one of the packs, I added Tamari sauce and will be doing that from now on.  This meal reminds me of the Panda Express chow mein if mixed with veggies.  I will be buying these regularly for an easy grab and go work lunch.

Yakisoba Stir Fried Noodles | A Vegan in Progress

About mrsnikkiv

I blog to document my experience transitioning to a vegan lifestyle.

14 responses »

  1. Yakisoba is my go-to noodle dish. Love, love it! Great post 🙂

    Reply
  2. Love the Don Lee veggie patties! Unfortunately out local Costco locations no longer carry them, so we dropped our membership. Yes, I kept the membership to Costco because those patties were THAT good. (and no one else has them) Glad to hear the word is out, maybe they will expand their marketing.

    Reply
    • I haven’t been to Costco in a while, so they may have stopped carrying them out here, too. That would be a total bummer! They are so easy to prepare and not heavy like Boca patties.

      Reply
  3. Valerie, you’re NOT alone…I too had a Costco membership solely for the purpose of purchasing the Don Lee veggie burgers…I was hooked after my GF introduced me to them…as soon as I became aware of the fact that Costco would no longer be carrying them, I opted NOT to renew my membership…I’ve given up looking for them cause it shouldn’t be that difficult…I question why Don Lee would even bothers to FB post about their burgers because they have known for a long time distribution is a serious problem.

    Reply
  4. After all to discussion, I felt compelled to check out our nearby Costco. I went to the one in Canoga Park, California. They had a bunch in stock for now, so I bought a couple of boxes!

    Reply
  5. I just picked these up at my local Costco yesterday; I’m trying to save some money by not going out to lunch as much. They are delicious! HOWEVER, I just double checked the ingredients and it lists “oyster sauce” near the end of the list. 😦 Not so vegan.. BOO!

    Reply
  6. I regret to inform everyone that the Don Lee Farms Veggie Patties are NO LONGER VEGAN. They have added eggs to the ingredients, repackaged and relabeled them “VEGETARIAN”. Buyer Beware!

    Please go to the Don Lee Farms website (http://www.donleefarms.com/), and urge them to reconsider this ridiculous and regressive decision.

    Reply
  7. Costco UK Buyer

    The yakisoba product has just arrived in the UK and despite it being labelled as ** All Vegetarian **, the Allergy Advice section indicates the product may contain “crustacean and molluscs, fish” – this clearly makes the product not vegetarian, nor vegan. Buyer beware!

    Reply

Leave a comment