RSS Feed

Vegan Recipe – Super Simple Mini Pizzas

Posted on

I was home for dinner on my own one night recently and wasn’t in the mood to cook much.  I looked through the pantry and finally settled on mini pizzas made on pita bread.  This is no ordinary pita bread.  It’s super thick and soft.  I buy it at the Sherman Oaks Farmers Market from the Brothers booth.  They sell also awesome hummus and garlic spreads as well as stuffed grape leaves.

Super Simple Mini Pizzas | A Vegan in Progress

INGREDIENTS:

  • Soft, thick pita bread
  • Daiya vegan mozzzarella cheese
  • Marinara sauce (or any vegan pasta sauce)
  • Toppings of your choice (I used sundried tomatoes and olives)

DIRECTIONS:

  • Preheat the oven to 375
  • Spread sauce thinly over the pita (be careful not to get it too close to the edges)
  • Sprinkle Daiya cheese all over the top, but don’t cover every bit of the sauce like I did… this was too thick – let a little sauce peak through
  • Sprinkle toppings to your taste
  • Cook for about 20 minutes
  • Watch for the Daiya cheese to melt, that’s all you’re really waiting for since none of the raw ingredients will make you sick.  Just keep in mind that non-dairy cheese doesn’t melt exactly the same as traditional cheese, and you don’t want to overcook it.

These mini-pizzas came out great.  The pita bread, which started out incredibly fluffy and thick, became a little thinner and stiffer – much more crust-like.  I loved it and will make it again when I’m fending for myself for dinner or Eric and I are each making our own meals (he wouldn’t like this much).  The leftovers also held up surprisingly well.

Super Simple Mini Pizzas | A Vegan in Progress

About mrsnikkiv

I blog to document my experience transitioning to a vegan lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

