Vegan Recipe – Chocolate Chip Cookies

I am a big fan of Isa Chandra Moskowitz’s cookbooks… her Fronch toast recipe is the best French toast I’ve ever had.  So when I felt like trying my hand at a vegan chocolate chip recipe, I went directly to her website for a recipe.

These cookies are actually quite simple to make and come out very soft and puffy rather than other cookie recipes that come out crispy and flat.  They were very tasty as well – try them out!

Chocolate Chip Cookies | A Vegan in Progress

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 2/3 cup canola oil
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk (or your favorite non-dairy milk)
  • 1 tablespoon tapioca flour (you can use cornstarch or arrowroot instead – I used cornstarch)
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cups chocolate chips (I used chocolate chunks)

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).  Lightly grease two large light metal baking sheets.
  2. Mix together sugars, oil, milk, and tapioca flour in a mixing bowl.  Use a strong fork and mix really well, for about 2 minutes, until it resembles smooth caramel (or beat it in your mixer as I did).  There is a chemical reaction when sugar and oil collide, so it’s important that you don’t get lazy about that step. Mix in the vanilla.
  3. Add 1 cup of the flour, the baking soda and salt. Mix until well incorporated. Mix in the rest of the flour. Fold in the chocolate chips. The dough will be a little stuff so use your hands to really work them in.
  4. For 3 inch cookies, roll the dough into about ping pong ball size balls. Flatten them out in your hands to about 2 1/2 inches. They will spread just a bit. Place on a baking sheet and bake for about 8 minutes – no more than 9 – until they are just a little browned around the edges. I usually get 16 out of these so I do two rounds of eight cookies. Let cool on the baking sheet for about 5 minutes then transfer to a cooling rack.
  5. For 2 dozen two inch cookies roll dough into walnut sized balls and flatten to about 1 1/2 inches and bake for only six minutes.

About mrsnikkiv

I blog to document my experience transitioning to a vegan lifestyle.

5 responses »

  1. I really love The PPK website too! That was the first website that was recommended to me by my vegan friend (who has been vegan forever). I love your posts. We are also a mixed diet household, so I relate to the challenge of feeding a meat eater while trying to satisfy my new veggie-centric life.

    Reply
  2. These look delicious, thanks for posting the recipe 🙂

    Reply
  3. Yum! I pinned these and can’t wait to make them next week 🙂 Thanks for sharing this post!

    Reply

Leave a comment