RSS Feed

Liebster Award

Thanks, Wholesome Hostage for nominating me for the Liebster blog award!  I’ve only been blogging for a short time, so it’s nice to be thought of.

My understanding of the Liebster Award is that it’s a chain letter of sorts to recognize other great blogs that you enjoy and an opportunity to share a little about yourself that you wouldn’t normally write about.

Liebster Award | A Vegan in Progress

LIEBSTER AWARD

1. Add the award icon to your blog!

2. Link to your nominator to say thank you.

3. Each blogger should post 11 facts about themselves.

4. Answer the questions the tagger has set for you, & create 11 questions for your nominations to answer.

5. Choose 11 up-and-coming bloggers with less than 200 followers, go to their blog, and tell them about the award.

FACTS ABOUT ME

1.  I wish I had more time for recreational reading, but college reading takes up most of that time.

2.  I don’t even particularly like to cook, but I love having something that I made from scratch to eat and share with others.

3.  I have really curly hair and was called “Felicity” for a while in high school when that show began.

4.  I have an inexplicable fondness for 90’s movies – particularly Sister Act, Jurassic Park, Father of the Bride, and Mrs. Doubtfire.

5.  I am an insane perfectionist when wrapping Christmas presents.  I always look forward to it.

6.  Dick Van Dyke is my fantasy boyfriend.  He is adorable and so super talented.  I love that I haven’t seen all episodes of the Dick Van Dyke show because they can still be a surprise.

7.  I love Disneyland and Eric and I used to have annual passes.  If you ever go there – try the vegan gumbo!!  (click here for more vegan options)

8.  I actually like my mother in law and she likes me.  How often does that happen?

9.  I love vintage clothing and accessories – particularly the 1950’s and early 60’s.  I just have a hard time incorporating it into my daily wardrobe!

10.  Adopting our two cats was one of the best decisions I have ever made.  They both bring so much happiness to my life.  Watching Noche go from being a very timid former stray to a point where he is comfortable and adventurous has been such a joy.

11.  Even though I don’t have any kids, every time I go by the Janie and Jack store in the mall, I have to go in.  Those tiny coordinated outfits are SO CUTE!

MY ANSWERS TO WHOLESOME HOSTAGE’S QUESTIONS

1. What do you hope people get out of your blog?
Originally, I thought that if I was going to go to the effort of emailing the corporate office of chain restaurants for ingredients lists, I should make that information available for anyone who needs it.  I don’t think my non-vegan husband should have to eat at vegan places or Chipotle all the time, so I have tried to figure out a number of other places with acceptable options for me.  As time has passed, I have realized that so much of this lifestyle change has been about trying new things, so I hope I inspire visitors to try something new themselves.

2. Who’s the funniest person you know?
My whole family is very funny, so we have a lot of fun when we’re all together.  When my sisters and I get together, we’re often laughing the whole time.  Number one, though, would have to be my husband, Eric.

3. What is your favorite cuisine to cook?
I love Italian food, although, I haven’t experimented with it much since I began making vegan food.  I have always wanted to conquer Indian food, but it’s rather intimidating with all of those spices!  I tend to make a lot of Asian food: kung pao seitan, lettuce wraps, pad thai, and rice bowls.

4. What is your favorite restaurant?
This is such a great question.  I have only been there once, but my recent visit to the Rabbit Hole Café has left me wanting to go back more than any other restaurant since I went vegan.

5. How do you deal with cooking for picky eaters?
I am usually the pickiest eater in the room.  I’m working on that and trying new things has made me realized that my taste buds have changed and I should have given bell peppers a second chance a long time ago!  However, I try to make everyone happy when I am cooking.  I don’t cook anything with meat (I actually never felt right about handling meat in the kitchen – even when I used to eat it) but I have on occasion sprinkled real cheese on a casserole for my husband, while using Daiya for myself.

6. Would you prefer to shop in a grocery store that gives you tons of choices for essentially the same item or limited choices?
I would prefer tons of choices.  It may take me longer to do my shopping, but I like having options.

7. Who’s your role model?
This is such a hard question to answer without sounding pretentious.  My goal is to be informed so that I may live my life truly according to my values.  I thought I cared about animal rights and welfare before… but now I’m walking the walk and saving animal lives (and my own) with every meal.  I am trying to be someone who stands up for their beliefs and constantly works to see things from the perspective of others and make decisions with them in mind, so in that way, Gandhi is my role model.  See?  Sounds pretentious.

8. Do you have a food you’re obsessed with? If so, what is it?
I go through cycles where I am obsessed with one particular food, then I overdose on it and lay off of it for a while.  My usual obsessions are clementines and edamame… pretty safe to OD on.

9. What are your thoughts on growing your own food?
I think that’s awesome if you can do it.  We live in an apartment, so it’s not practical for us, but definitely something I would like to think about in the future.  When I was a kid, my grandparents lived on an acre of property with many avocado trees, an orange tree, and strawberries.  I remember eating the strawberries right off the plant.

10. Are you competitive?
Generally, I’m not.  However, just Monday I was called competitive.  On the final day of one of my classes this semester, we were reviewing all of the readings and discussions in preparation for a paper tying together some of the themes.  She had us in groups, competing for extra credit points.  I had really prepared for the review and really wanted those points!  I guess I got carried away.

11. Do you prefer cooking savory or sweet dishes more?
I don’t make desserts very often, even though prefer to eat sweets more than savory.  I tend to cook meals – which are more savory.

QUESTIONS FOR MY NOMINEES

1.  What makes you happy?

2.  What is the best decision you have ever made?

3.  What’s your favorite snack?

4.  What’s on your holiday wish list?

5.  What’s your guilty pleasure?

6.  What do you like to do on a rainy day?

7.  What’s the most impressive meal you can make for non-vegans?

8.  What convinced you to start a blog?

9.  What is your favorite cook book?

10.  What is the biggest challenge for you in terms of your lifestyle?

11.  Who inspires you?

MY NOMINEES

Oh, the Veganity!

 

Vedged Out

Vegan Flavorista

Made of Stars

One Happy Table

That Was Vegan?

The Very New Vegan

Honey for the Bees

More Than Greens

Acciovegans

Luminous Vegans

 

About mrsnikkiv

I blog to document my experience transitioning to a vegan lifestyle.

3 responses »

  1. Thanks so much and congrats on your well-deserved award. =)

    Reply
  2. Congratulations to you, Nikki! You deserve this recognition for sure! I’m so honored you’ve passed this along to me. Thank you. : )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

